Hoppy’s Almost Back!

img_9390As many or most of our readers know, I (Hoppy) have been out of commission for several months now.  The fact is, in early-May 2016, I had to stop riding due to hip and leg pains.  Shortly thereafter, I was diagnosed by the VA Medical Center with a deteriorated right hip.  Actually, both hips were bad, but the right one was extreme.  I was told that I needed a total hip replacement.

I’m sure you’ve also heard, or even experienced, how slow the VA has been in treating patients in their care.  Due to the long delay, I was told in July that I could get outside treatment.  I took them up on the offer, and finally had the surgery in late-September.

After 2-3 weeks in a Rehab facility, I returned home in late-October, where I am still recuperating today.  The good news is that I don’t feel the pain I had before surgery, and I am improving noticeably each day.

Medical staff have given me a wide range of expected recovery times, from 3-4 weeks to 3-6 months, before I’ll be able to ride my trike/velomobile again.  Well, I’m past the 3-4 weeks, but I don’t think it will take me 6 months.  My home-health Physical Therapist had me sitting in the velomobile just to see if I could do it.  While I was able to maneuver myself enough to sit in the vm, we both agreed that it was too early for me to consider riding it yet.  I had been projecting an initial return to riding date as “the end of December”.  At this point, though, I’m thinking it may be late November or early December.  Still a long time for someone who loves riding, but this is already early November…so it won’t be long now.  But I won’t do any riding until the Doctors, PTs, and I all agree that I’m ready to do it.  I don’t want to injure myself and have to go through all this again!

So the bottom line is, I’m getting better every day, and there’s light at the end of the tunnel, but I’m not there yet.

Leave a Reply

